Hello, another newbie with some questions

Greetings.
I’m almost 30 years old and I’m contemplating a career change into medicine with an emphasis in psychiatry. Several years ago I started at a junior college and worked on the requisite courses which lead to a transfer to a 4-year university. Eventually I graduated with a degree but unfortunately my undergrad grades weren’t the best. To keep it short, I had a variety of problems that I struggled with throughout my early and mid 20s. While some people pissed away their undergrad years with heavy drinking and partying, I almost lost mine through severe depression and isolation. However, I did graduate!
Having worked at a few crummy, dead-end, temp jobs, I’m at a major crossroads in my life; head to graduate school to become a social worker with either a masters or a PhD, or medical school, to become a psychiatrist. I’m well aware of the differences between a social worker, psychologist, and a psychiatrist. Hell, I’ve spent many years dealing therapists and psychiatrists I pretty much know how the system works.
As an aside, I’ve been thinking about med school for sometime but never gave it any serious consideration until now. However, when I think of all the prerequisites I would have to take and given I’m almost 30, it feels daunting - VERY daunting. For example, if I were accepted into med school today, I would be closing in on 40 by the time I wrapped up my residency, and that’s IF I started today. It feels so overwhelming to think about it, and when I feel like tossing this wild notion of wanting to go to med school I remind myself of these encouraging quotes from the Resident Life forums at TLC.com: