Hello from a Younger Older Student

Hi. My name is Stephen and I’m a 31-year-old returning college student. In 1995, I was unceremoniously, academically dismissed with a GPA of 0.818. Probably because I preferred staying out with my friends all night and staying in bed through class. During the past decade I got married too young and divorced soon after, then spent seven years driving big rigs. Now I’ve settled down and figured out what I want to be when I grow up. As a non-traditional student, I actually feel that I have an edge on younger students. In fact, three weeks into my return to higher education, I am already confident that I will run circles around the young pups.
My heaviest concern is my prior college work. I’ve talked to a pre-med advisor about what I ought to do and was advised to retake courses that I made less than a C in. That’s most of 'em, and I’ve got no problem doing that. I wonder, though, how it will look to medical schools when I apply in a few years. Will they glance at my GPA and move on, or will they check and see the ten-year gap and my current successes?

You need to read our esteemed founder’s story:
click here.
OldManDave is now an anesthesiology resident at Dartmouth, in his third postgraduate year. There are surely other ways to go about getting into medical school than the path he chose, but I do think that his experience provides a great model for those who’ve got pretty serious academic deficiencies.
There will be no short cuts. You’re going to have to do well in everything and you’ll need to do much more than simply re-take some courses. You basically need to put together a portfolio of significant accomplishment - which clearly you can do.