Hello there! Would appreciate advice

Hello everyone,
I’m new to the forum but I love all the information. A little abou me…I am in my second year (first yr. fulltime) in a postbacc program. I am not a 4.0 student and I am attending the program to boost GPA and to fulfill my science requirements. So far I’m doing ok (A’s and B’s). Currently, I’m enrolled in 18 hours which has proved to be suicide. I’m in O-Chem, Genetics, Calc, Physics and Spanish. I just came off a great summer semester but now I’m drowning. I have C’s across the board and I really need to be getting A’s because of my previous GPA (I have a degree in CIS). Can anyone provide some much needed advice? I was thinking about changing my Genetics to an audit status and maybe retaking next semester.
One more thing. Like I stated I’m in a formal Postbacc program. I’m VERY turned off by the hypercompetitiveness - especially in O-Chem. Any advice on how I can get over this?

Well, you gotta try and keep from getting Cs this semester. However you can do that - do it. Drop a class if it’s not too late. Change to pass-fail for electives if you can. Do whatever you can to make sure that you can get good grades because you’re right to recognize that you’ve gotta make that your bottom line.
As for the “hypercompetitiveness” - turn a deaf ear. Lots of what people are saying is a bunch of hype. Whatever the “curve” in a class might be, whatever the goal, the bottom line is that you have to excel. You need to be in the top group, whatever that is. But don’t set your sights as a relative measure of how good you are compared to everyone else. Your goal is excellence and proficiency and thorough knowledge of the subject. Your only competition should be with your own high expectations. Ignore the rest of 'em, master your subjects, and keep on course to do very, very well.
Good luck, and welcome to OPM!
Mary

Hey DocCuz…