Hello to Me again!

Hi everyone, I just wanted to introduce myself. I am just starting on the path that many of you have chosen. I’ve been a long time lurker but only recently registered. Right now, I am a lawyer and I suppose I always will be (in name anyway) but I’d like to be a doctor. Don’t worry I have absolutely no aspirations to do medical malpractice.
It’s been hard to weave thru all the horror stories and “don’t do it” from the residents and those around you. I realize that most people think I’m absolutely instable, and probably somewhat insane for this. But I couldn’t be happier now that I’ve decided to make this leap. I am very excited about this long, winding road ahead of me (even though I know it will be hard), bc at the very least I feel like I am alive. Sticking with law certainly would’ve been the straighter, financially healthier road, but I was miserable and felt like I was stuck. Yesterday, I went to a recruiting event for my first-year law students and honestly my heart broke for them. I saw the hope and excitement they had - trying to impress us - and felt like they were baby lambs walking into a slaughter. I hope that’s not the way residents look at us.
I am going to stay at my job until April or early May…and then begin my post-bacc program in Bryn Mawr in May. I would love to make use of the linkages, particularly the ones without the MCAT, but most are private schools and I would love to attend a state school and save money since I’m blowing it all the on the post-bacc.
Well, just wanted to say hello and share my story.