Hello, yet another pre-med introduction!

Hello everyone! I just surfed on over here after being a lurker on SDN for a couple months. And wow, this site is great.
I’m a 27 year old guy who will soon be a post-baccer this fall at Harvard Extension School. I live in Arlington, VA, and work as a lobbyist at a law firm in downtown DC that represents a bunch of medical specialty societies and disability groups. Before that I worked as a health care LA and committee staff in Congress. My undergrad years were at Michigan State University where I majored in Political Theory.
I was that precocious kid in high school who knew he wanted to be a doctor from the moment he dissected his first frog. But I got sidetracked by the political bug and, with the counsel of my lawyer-heavy family and friends, had to make a choice in careers…so I went the pre-law route. Ooopps.
I ended up doing health policy, loving it, and gradually my desire to be an MD again has gotten out of control. After some shadowing, volunteering, and spending some encouraging time with med student friends, I decided to go for it. I want the challenge!
Even though I am trying to work my butt off to save some money before going to HES this fall, I’ll be lurking around and posting occasion. And I can’t wait to come to the convention in June. (Which is luckily a 10 minute drive away from home!) Time to go register…

Welcome!
You will love HES. I’m taking gen chem there now, have taken an intro psych class there and will be doing orgo in the fall. I’m not actually part of their official post-bacc program, but I know there are a couple other OPMs that post here who are. Best of luck in your pursuit!

BooRadley;