Hello!

Hi all! I just got in touch with the amazing, marvelous Rick after asking for his advice about medical school. He asked me to come say hi on here, and he admonished me for contacting him from SDN instead of from here. I did want to get you guys’ advice on my info too, so here goes:

I have a 3.7 from The University of Texas with two Bachelor’s degrees, separated by 6 years. The first degree was in 2006 and it is in Human Development and Family Science. The second degree was in 2012 and it was in Microbiology. Before that, I graduated from a community college with most of my prereqs done (chem, o chem and physics) and a 4.0. Between the two schools, I have over 200 hours of college credit and, when averaging my scores together, I have a 3.8 cGPA and a 3.7 sGPA. However, I did have around six to eight dropped classes up to the second to last semester I was in school. I made B’s in a lot of my upper level Biology coursework.

I will be taking the MCAT in August and applying this year. Leadership wise, I have been teaching science for the past two years and used to hold a small political office where I served as a precinct chair for the Travis County Democratic Party, managing house meetings, block walks and voter registration drives. Medical EC wise, for the past year, I’ve volunteered both for a hospital and a hospice. I worked for a pharmacy for a year and a half and got to run the health screenings for them, testing cholesterol and blood glucose tests. Years ago, I volunteered for another semester for a hospital and spent one semester multiple years ago shadowing pediatricians. I have no actual science research experience, but I did some social science research during my first degree and then had research methods coursework where we were turned loose in a lab to run our own experiments and I chose to work with microbes.