Help!!..Need advice on what to do for pre med

Hello Everyone!!

I stumbbled on this forum while desperatly trying to figure out how it’s possible for me to go to medical school or if I even have a chance at being accepted.

Now for some background info,

I graduated with a B.S. in biology in 2008 with a science gpa of 2.5 and an overall gpa of 2.6 my plan was to retake my science classes and try to bring up my gpa. However because I come from a very traditional family I ended up getting married and moved to dallas with my husband. While I was here I applied to the UTD post bac program however I was rejected because I had too many science units and I wasn’t a good candidate for their program.

Well after that life happened and I got pregnant, and decided to put the idea of med school on hold. Now that my daughter is about to turn 2, I really want give med school a chance. However I don’t even know where to begin, especially since I was rejected from the post bac program I feel really discouraged.

So if anyone can give me advice on where to begin, and a simple timeline of what I should be doing and when to take the MCATs. I would really appreciate it.

Also for any pre med moms out there, any advice on how to handle baby and family would be very helpful. My husband and I would like to have another baby, not sure as to when it would be the best time. So any tips on the timing for a new baby would be awesome.

Hi Dina,

Welcome to the OPM forum.

Let’s start from the beginning. Please learn this rule because it will be the only rule you will ever need: BREATH AND RELAX.

Your case is as typical as it can be, so if you are willing to put perseverance, test your resilience,study hard and apply the wisdom you will receive from this forum, your chances to go to medical school are high.

Having said that, the road will not be easy, but you already know that.

Let’s enumerate your pros:

1. You are young.

2. You want it.