Hi All! I'm a newbie

Hi all!

What an excellent idea to create a forum for non-trad pre-med students! I am wrapping up my first semester back to school at age 30. I am really enjoying my studies of the sciences. I’m fortunate that my husband is supportive.

I have a degree is in business/accounting so now I’m taking the chemistry, biology and physics courses required to apply to med school. I’m not sure yet if my business calculus, statistics & english courses from 2002 can be applied to the required courses for medical school. I might need to retake them? Anyone have experience with this?

No one in my family has ever been a medical doctor. I became passionate about taking up the studies and I do believe my family (with the exception of my husband) thinks I’m a little off my rocker. LOL. I’ve always been able to excel in an academic setting and am extremely motivated to learn and practice medicine, for a variety of reasons. I started volunteering in the fall at a hospital clinic to help out and get a feel for what it’s like working in healthcare. This experience has helped to reaffirm my decision to continue pursuing my prerequisites to apply to medical school. It’s so crazy, though. I want to become a doctor to help others and admittedly, am fascinated by the intellectual pursuit of the profession. At the same time, I’m a bit concerned that its selfish…in that my husband is supporting our family (we don’t have any kiddies yet but probably will soon!) while I pursue medicine. Can anyone offer some insight on this?

Looking forward to chatting with you all! I appreciate any and all advice!!

Best,

Jackie

Jackie,