Hi All - Still here contemplating Medical School

Hi All,
I would like to introduce myself. I just turned 36 on May 24. I have a BA in Biology, MA Science and an MBA. I have been contemplating medical school for many years now. As an undergrad, my grades suffered but I did graduate with a 2.8 overall. I have been working for over 10 years in the pharmaceutical industry where I have gained alot of experience in clinical trials and medicine. I have never been totally happy in my work and always felt that I was missing out on my dream to be a doctor. I am beginning to search for post-bac programs that are flexible since my husband and daughter are a huge part of my life. I will also need to keep my job as I attend the post-bac program so I will be facing great challenges.
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Connie

Connie,
Hi, and welcome! It’s a giddy feeling when you finally decide you have to do this, isn’t it? Giddy and scary and unreal. And fun.
First of all, consider an informal, do-it-yourself post-bacc. That may be the only option if you need to keep your day job: take (or re-take) the pre-req courses in the evening, one or two at a time, and chip away at it all.
How were your grad school grades? If those were better, you may not have to do as much to “prove yourself” with taking more advanced sciences to make up for a less-than stellar undergrad GPA. We all face big challenges as old premeds, but it’s not impossible, and you’re not alone.

Hi,
Thanks for your response. I had a 3.6 for my MA and 3.75 for my MBA. I like the “do it yourself” post-bac. It may be less expensive and I can manage my time around it.