Hi, all!

Just thought I’d introduce myself… I’m a 34-year-old undergrad in my Junior year (if you count a whole bunch of classes I did poorly in in the Pleistocene) with a 4.0 GPA upon returning to school after a 12 year hiatus.
I have a great job in IT that is the polar opposite of rewarding, and is under constant pressure from outsourcing, so decided to pursue a career change. I was originally leaning toward Optometry, but it seems to me that profession is moving more toward glorified retail, so changed my focus to MD. I have a significant amount of time to decide, as I’m only able to take about 8 credits a semester with my full time job.
Anyway, this site looks like a great resource for the greying mid-life career crisis set, of which I am a proud member. Thanks.

Greying mid-life at 34? Shoot, you’re barely dry behind the ears! Some of us are in our 50s . . . now that’s greying mid-life for ya’!
Welcome to our group! If you want to have some serious fun while learning an enormous amount about the pre-med and medical student world, then don’t miss the conference in June!
Linda

Hi Timbo,
We’re practically neighbors! I live over in Sandwich
Nice to see a fellow Illinoisian on the board!

Cool! I can’t really say I’m an Illinoisian yet, though… just moved here from Alaska. Probably should get the driver’s license and plates changed soon…
Where are you going to school? I’m at Benedictine…

I’m taking some pre-reqs at Waubonsee CC right now. I’m taking A&P I right now and A&P II + Calc this summer. This fall I’ll be taking Physics/Orgo I and Spring will be II.
After I take the MCAT, I’m probably going to take some upper-level bios at NIU to help ease the adcom’s mind since I’m doing my “post-bacc” through the local CC.

Good for you! I’m taking it the opposite direction… I have Calculus and Physics out of the way (mostly because I understand those better) and will have Bio and Chem fresher in my mind for the MCAT.