Hi Everyone

Hi Everyone,

I just wanted to take a minute to introduce myself. I just ran into OPM while wondering if there was even a chance of going outside the “traditional” path to medical school. I just want to say that you are all an inspiration and proof that anything is possible.

A little about myself…

I graduated from undergrad with a degree in accounting, but knew right away that it wasn’t what I wanted for myself and I was not going to get the fulfillment I was looking for with a career in that field. I tried to figure out a way to combine the education I had already obtained with something that could be a little more hands on and meaningful to society so I went back to school and got a masters in international political economy. That was much better, but I still find myself constantly wondering “what if?” I had always dreamed of becoming a doctor while growing up, but when college came around I didn’t feel I was in the place to follow my dreams. I felt more pressure to quickly get a reliable job that would pay the bills, even if it was thankless, just as my father had. After some soul searching though, I’ve figured out that I can do this and it is completely attainable if I want it. Thanks to those of you who have shared your experiences because it has helped me reach that realization.

Now that I’m trying to figure out how to make this work with my current sitution, I’m wondering how people are going about the pre-med education process - namely, what kinds of jobs are people able to work full time and still have the flexibility to take classes and still afford all of life’s expenses? I’m single so unfortunately have to cover rent, student loan payments, and a car payment on my own. I fully expect to go into debt for medical school, but want to keep it limited until then. Any advice would be great!

Thanks again everyone and I look forward to interacting more as I go through this process!

Eric