Hi, I'm new to oldpremeds

I have revisited the decision to work at becoming a doctor many times since I graduated high school. I’m not sure how the rest of you feel, but I was just plain intimidated by the idea, I mean after all it is a large investment (time, money, discipline, etc.). Well here I am finally deciding to go for it at 44. I think it had a lot to do with the fact that my 2 oldest are now adults.

I have a 2-year degree and will begin taking premed this fall at the CC. Plan to transfer to the University in spring, however. I do have lots of clinical experience as an acute care CNA (oncology, ortho and med-surg). I’d like to work in the medical corps (military) as a doctor.

I am open to any suggestions. Especially with regards to juggling a family and working in the military as a doc. Good luck to all!

onmyway44,

It sounds like you have a solid plan for the medical school prep part. However, at 44, you are likely already too old for the military part.

I’m currently in the Navy HPSP and have 10 years of prior active duty enlisted service in the Air Force and I had to get an age waiver when I entered HPSP last year at 42. According to my recruiter, even with a waiver and prior service, you would still have to obtain your commission and graduate from medical school before your 48th birthday. Unfortunately, even with a waiver and prior service, I don’t think military medicine wouldn’t be an option for you unless you were starting medical school this year.

• TicDocDoh Said:
onmyway44,

It sounds like you have a solid plan for the medical school prep part. However, at 44, you are likely already too old for the military part.