Hi! Introduction questions

Hi everyone,

I am so happy to have just discovered this community of non-traditional premeds, and I’ve really enjoyed reading these very supportive forums. I live in the Chicago area, so I’m also really looking forward to attending the conference in June!! A little about my background: I’m a 27-year-old professional classical musician. I wanted to be a doctor throughout my entire childhood and through high school, but somehow when I got to college I went in without a concrete plan and ended up in an intense music music performance program, with few science classes and no med school prereqs (music has always been a hobby; I had never intended it to be a career). I also got a masters in music performance - hey, I figured I’d already gone as far as a bachelors’… anyway, my career has been great as far as music careers go - I have amassed a list of musical accomplishments that I’m VERY proud of. But over the last few years many things have happened to make me realize that I never wanted to be a professional musician, and that, in fact, my dream to be a doctor is still very much alive - and I’m way more passionate about it than I’ve ever been about music.

So, I started taking night classes at my alma mater to get the prerequisites I needed to even apply for its post-bacc premed program. I also started getting my feet wet in some volunteer work and lab work to make sure I enjoy both clinical and research settings… and I DO!!! I am volunteering in the ER of a local hospital and at a center for fetal alcohol syndrome research. I am also working in a lab part-time at my alma mater, helping with a research project.

Like most non-traditional premed students (I imagine), I have some aspects of my application that I’m afraid med schools may look at askance, and I want to minimize that if possible. I have two primary concerns: