Hi!!

Hello! I guess I ought to introduce myself. I registered in February when a friend from my Kaplan review course told me about OPM. But between studying for the MCAT after a 7 year hiatus from anything resembling chemistry or physics and working full time with call hours at the hospital and attempting to actually spend a teeny bit of time with my family, I’ve only posted recently. But the BEAST has been faced, and now it’s time to face the rest of the process.
Anyway, I’m a 30 year old mother of 2 girls, 9 and 5, and I work as a scrub tech. at the local hospital. I got my BS in '97 and took the MCAT the first time in '96. My daughter threw up the entire night before the '96 MCAT and while I sat in bed trying to get some sleep for the “BIGGEST TEST OF MY LIFE,” I realized that it might not be the best time for med school for me. Looking back, I know it definitely was not the best time. I had a 18 month old, my husband was in seminary, and at least one of us needed to work sometimes (paying the bills is always helpful). Anyway, I had another daughter a couple of years later, and recently my husband and I decided it was time to go for it. I’m terrified, to tell the truth. It’s always easier to say you’re going to do something in the nebulous future than it is to buckle down and do it and face failure. My husband is VERY supportive, and I couldn’t have gotten through the MCAT without his help. He even took the kids and stayed at my parents house the week before the MCAT so I could get a lot of studying done, and since he’s not overly fond of my family, that’s really saying something. Anyway, that’s a short intro. to me. I’ve really enjoyed reading the posts on the forum. It’s incredibly encouraging.

Hi Alison,
Welcome to the group. The MCAT is but one step on your quest. I promise that you will have more tests that will be more important than MCAT so don’t give it that much power.