Hitting A Wall

Hi there. I’m looking for a bit of perspective and am hoping that some of you out there will be willing to put in your two cents.

I have been chipping away at a DIY Post-Bacc for 3-4 years while working full-time and taking care of my two little boys. I took the MCAT in September and am gearing up to apply to med school this year. What worries me is as I write and rewrite my personal statement, continue to gain volunteer experience, and finish up my last year of courses, I find that I’ve lost a mountain of motivation. When I started this journey I was driven, inspired, and determined to go to become an MD. Now I am constantly second-guessing myself, mainly because I’m worried about what it will do to my family and my relationship with my kids.

Because of my situation, if I get into med school I will be moving an hour away from my husband and kids with no expected plan for them to move along with me. I will do everything I can to maintain a good relationship with everyone I love, but given the stresses and time vortex that is medical school, I worry that what I give will not be enough for me to not feel extreme guilt for choosing my passion over my family, even though we will all ultimately benefit in the end (hopefully). I’ve been thinking of other avenues I can take while still being part of the health care community (I’m very interested in working with hospice or in a nursing home) and they all sound appealing, but I also wonder if I’m leaning in those alternate directions because they would just be easier and quicker and I already feel a sense of burn out around managing family life, work, and school.