Honest Advice Needed - BTW This Site is Awesome!

Hi all,

Brief introduction, I’m a 31 y/o father of a wonderful 4 y/o son. My loving wife is an RN and I am currently working in the corporate world as an advertising account executive. I’ve been in this field for 5 years and I’m am quite successful in it. The problem is it is not where my heart is. Every since leaving college many years ago, I regret everyday not applying myself in college and staying on the path on becoming a MD. There are many reasons for my failures in undergrad (ie working too much, unmotivated and not really having direction, never really learning to study correctly, etc). In high school, I graduated near the top of my class and had a high GPA and went on to a top 25 school. I struggled through my undergrad but ended up with my degree in physiology. Shortly after graduation I got caught up into the startup internet companies and worked there for a few years and eventually ended up where I am now.

My wife has really inspired me to pursue my dreams. She too went back to school to change careers and now has a masters in nursing. She loves her job and as tough as it is, it is very satisfying and fulfilling. She is a wonderful caretaker and has a heart for helping people.

I NEED YOUR HELP! I am willing to give it my all and apply myself to my full potential. I think I’ve read the majority of the posts on this forum and many of you have inspired me as well to pursue my dreams. The problem is, is it still possible considering my UG GPA. Here is the scoop:

CUM GPA 2.36

Science GPA around the same

Several D’s, F’s & I

Total Credit Hours: around 154

I don’t see how it is possible to raise my GPA to be competive, even if I do well on the MCAT.

Is there any hope? As I type this I feel like crying because I don’t see how it is possible.

My thoughts are to retake all the prereqs as they are over 10 years since I’ve taken them and some UD science courses. Maybe getting a second bachelors.