Houstonian New to OPM in desperate need of advice

I am 29 and I graduated in 2003 with a liberal arts degree (2.3 GPA…I did more partying than studying)and no science except for the required Biology 1 & 2. I really want to go med school for psychiatry & I know I will need to go to school and take the pre-reqs but I am scared my undergrad GPA will be a deal breaker. Do I have any shot at med-school or will I be wasting my time? What’s the best path to take? Help!!

Thanks in advance.

Welcome from a fellow Houstonian!

Yes, you can do this! There are lots of stories on here of folks who overcame past mistakes and have become successful doctors. Start with Old Man Dave’s story in the OPM Diaries section…very inspirational!

Take the first step, hang in there, and enjoy the journey!

Layne Tapper

Ltap has said it nicely. That being said, you will not have room for anything but stellar grades from here on out so once you’ve committed know that you’ll need to be going head on! You can do it–many others have!

If you’re born in 1980 (as your id implies), you’re a year younger’n me. If you graduated 2003, you’re two years.

Either way, you’re not entirely fuct. I graduated in 2001 with a 2.5 cumulative GPA; I’m now two years away from my MD.

I’m not going to pretend it was an easy path, but it was the path for me, and it’s certainly doable. Hell, if I can do it, I figure anyone can. It takes work and dedication - frankly, the types of things that I hadn’t really demonstrated prior to starting on this path.

If you’re sufficiently motivated, you’ve got a great opportunity to succeed.