How a repeat class gets calculated

tongue.gif Hi Everyone,
Not too long ago I posted my nightmarish experience with Organic Chem I this past semester. Well, I ended up with a terrible grade and so the nightmare continues...as I will have to repeat it (which now puts off med school for another year). I go to a very small school in a rural area---and unfortunately for me, there is only one professor who teaches it at my school and there are no other schools around other than community college (which my advisor told me she'd cut my head off if I retook it there). I truly believe that my prof was part of my problem. So, I have decided that I do not want to retake Organic here. I have decided to spend the summer back at the school I got my masters from (since I've taken a few pre-reqs there already anyhow) and take Organic I and II over the summer. I'm more confortable with the prof who teaches it there and the environment will be a positive one--not like the "only 40% of you will pass my class" attitude I suffered through already.
My advisor gives me her blessing....but she talks about how my poor grade will still be factored into my GPA since I won't be retaking the course at the same college and therefor won't have the option to have the GPA part updated. As a result, the grade remains on my transcript here and my GPA remains as it is. BUT....does this really matter in the long run?? When my GPA is calculated by the med schools when I apply, will this really matter in terms of GPA if my poor grade is replaced by an A or B?? I know that the bad grade will still be visible, but if I make up for it by retaking it, what's the difference??? Isn't it the same thing to get a D in a five credit course and then turn around and get an A in a five credit course??? The GPA is made up for??? Or am I really shooting myself in the foot by not retaking at the same school??