How difficult it actually is for a non-US citizen to get into medical school

Hello everyone.

Firstly, thank you for checking and giving your advice/comments/ thoughts.

I am an international student who wants to go to a US medical school. I just graduated from a small, private US college in upstate New York with a 3.9 GPA, and 517 MCAT. My LORs are really good and I have ton of research experience (I’ve worked on 4 projects and wrote 2 thesis in bio and psych). So academically my application is pretty strong I think. but there are few things I am worried about:

1: the only clinical experience I have in US is being a scribe for one year. however, I have ton of shadowing in eastern Europe and I also worked at a hair transplantation clinic for 4 years. I just don’t know how significant this is in the eyes of adcom.
2: I don’t have any clinical volunteering. however I was a philanthropy chair in my frat so we did ton of charity events and volunteering. I also have ton of volunteering hours in my home country.

So my question is, how much of a disadvantage it is to be a non-US citizen, and also how negatively will those 2 things affect my application. I am worried, so I partially decided to get a masters at Albany Medical College, which will provide me with more opportunities for clinical hours and volunteering. the program is free, and I much rather be in school and learn while strengthening my application. do you think this is necessary?

Thank you very much for the feedback!

Do You have a green card? or student visa?
if green card than it is no problem ( I had green card when attending med school and just recently did my citizenship ).
if You have student vise like F or work H visa this may be a problem , mostly with getting student loans but I do not think that adcoms care too much .

which Eastern European country are You from ? I originally come from Poland, came for summer vacation about 17 years ago ( actually exactly 17 years and one week ago :wink: .