How do I get started?

Hi,

I’m new to this site, so forgive me if I’m asking questions that have already been answered for someone else. I am 35 years old, and want to make a career change. I’ve always wanted to be a doctor, but ended up on a different path (I’ve been a federal law enforcement agent for the past 8 years). I have a BA in Psychology and underwent a pre-medical course of study, so I have all of the prerequisites. My GPA was 3.5. I also have a MSW (Masters in Social Work) and my GPA was 3.95. Obviously, I took these classes long ago (I graduated in 1994). How should I go about preparing for admission to medical school? Do you think I need to retake all of the prerequisite courses, or is there another avenue for review, etc., that will help prepare me for the MCAT/admission? I am just looking for the most expeditious way to pursue a career in medicine. Please advise!

Thanks, Pam

Well welcome but I see some problems here (Like I had graduating in 1989)

You have a great GPA so thats not the problem

Its with the age of your work, most US schools want to see recent college work and the prereqs should be less then 10 years old ( I have read some on here claim some schools say they do not care but I understand this is only a few?)

You are not prepared for an MCAT since it has been so long and this test is crucial

SO I would retake the prereqs ( just the major ones ) and prepare for the MCAT over the next year.

WHile planning this out I would call up the interested schools and find out what they say.

You need to

Volunteer

Shadow a DOC

have Patient Experience

Good Luck

Its a marathon not a sprint.

Honestly the only “Fast way” Around this is the Caribbean, You could study and take the MCAT since you do not need a high one (22 to 28 would be just fine for the Big Caribbean 3)

The three Caribbean schools that you could look at are

SGU

AUC

ROSS

these three you can practice in all 50 states and they have federal student loans