How long does it FUD'n take!?

Hello All!

I am a teacher, and, as such, usually very patient.

I can tell people to sit down ad nauseum.

I can loan pencils to the same child every day for months on end.

As an artist, I cannot count the times I have actually watched paint dry.

Three weeks ago, that all changed when I dropped my Post Bacc Application in the mail!

Now, I am a nervous wreck, and scour the entire house, yard and mailbox upon my return home, anxiously searching for some kind of response.

The fear of rejection is palpable. The uncertainty of leaving a great job to become a lowly (and broke) student for the better part of the next decade is weaving in and out of every thought. The doubt regarding my attempt at a ‘why medicine and why now’ essay has become deafening.

I said all that to ask this: How long does it usually take to hear back from a Post Bacc Program?

Is all this FUD warranted, or am I just, as my kid’s would say, ‘trippin’?

All I can say, with all the compassion in the world (since you can’t hear it in my voice) is, “Get used to it!!”

The thing is… once you decide to take this plunge, you realize how very badly you want it. And that opens you up to a whole new, vulnerable place of “pick me, pick me, pick me” that most of us haven’t had to deal with in a long time–and especially not with this degree of significance.

What you’re feeling is normal. I’d suspect you’ll (and by you, I mean “we”) will feel some degree of this all the way through med school and residency. (Can we say MATCH Day??? It makes me feel nauseated just thinking about it! LOL)

Try to find a healthy outlet for all that energy. In the mean time, just don’t forget to breathe.

Good luck!

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

What she said… I’m going through it right now because I “bombed” my take home problem set (open notes, book, interwebs, anyone but another student and I “bombed” it)… FUD!