how long premed takes?

Hi people, if you give some info I really will be very much relieved, i feel confused. Its actually very much a basic q: to have premed education do you have to have a 4-year bachelors degree in any US university? Isnt it enough just to have the prerequisite courses? I mean, do I have to have the prerequisite courses (Bio,Chem,Physics etc.) in any major field that takes years to graduate? After high school I graduated from a 2 year program of a university in Turkey, in IT. Later I worked as a software pro for years, now I may have an opportunity to have my dream education in medicine… MCAT is not the problem, I am preparing, but this premed BS degree and the time it consumes (if it takes 4 years in a university) is impossible. Would you please clarify this timing point? I cant be sure… Thanks for all… Â Â Â Â Â Â Â

If you check the requirements of various medical schools, you will find that many of them will state that you must have completed 90 semester hours of undergraduate courses (which is more or less three years). However, very few people are admitted to medical school without a 4 year degree.

If doing an American BS degree is not an option for you, you may want to look into foreign medical school entrance requirements.

• bidiboom Said: