How to Deal With Mildly Controlling Family Members Trying to Dictate Your Pre-Med/Med Experience

Hello,
I am a non-traditional student who has yet to complete the prerequisite courses. For reference, I earned a B.S. in psychology from UIUC and am now receiving an M.A. in mental health counseling from NYU. I already have a dream school because I thought it would help motivate me (Georgetown because its mission statement fits with what I do), though I have always kept my options open because you never know. It took me so long to even realize that I was the type of person that was able to succeed in medical school and while I like to plan ahead, I understand that there is only so much of that that can be done. Fortunately, my father-in-law (with whom I live during this pandemic) and my fiance have been really supportive of my dreams. Unfortunately, it has some caveats and conditions. I will sum it up:

• My fiance alternates between being really confident in what I can do and being less confident about me. He says he thinks I’m really smart, but then he told me that I should take community college courses because any other class is too competitive. I resent the implication of this and I resent it more considering many medical schools-especially many of my dream schools- implicitly endorse it when they look down on community college courses. I have told him this a few times but he does not listen and I am worried that it will impact whether or not I can get into my dream schools.

• I mentioned that I want to either be a psychiatrist or a neurologist (though again, I’m open). He seems to only mention the neurologist specialty even though he knows I feel stronger about being a psychiatrist. I suspect it is because he saw the average salary of each specialty and neurology’s was slightly higher.