How to make it happen or When to walk away?

Hello. This is my first post. I have been reading these for awhile and I thought it was time to reach out for some advice. My premed advisor at the university that I attend helps some, but I don’t think she would ever tell me that I should stop trying to get into medical school.

Here is my situation:

-I have 4 years experience working in Human Service (Mental hospitals and substance abuse treatment centers).

-I want to get into psychiatry.

-I completed a Bachelor of Fine Arts with a 3.0 gpa.

-Then spent 2 years taking: Physics I & II, General Chem I & II, Calculus (twice: D then A-), Organic Chem I, Human Phys, and General Biology.

-I got a 3.0 once again while taking the pre-reqs. I got a lot of B’s.

I was taking my second Organic Chem and withdrew when I realized that wasn’t going to get a high B or A.

I have taken a year off, because I ran out of money and confidence in my ability to get in. During my time working on my pre-reqs, I worked full time. I did not have time to volunteer and study. I still dream about taking classes and going to medical school, but I just don’t know how to make it happen. How high does my gpa need to be to have a chance to get in somewhere?

How much experience do I need in a medical setting?

And most importantly, how do I find the money and the time to get it all done?

I have bills to pay each month and I don’t know how people can afford to pay their bills and go to school.

I have exhausted FASFA loans. Do any of you use private loans to pay for premed coursework and monthly expenses?

Finally, when do you know it is time to throw in the towel?

I hope that all made some sense.

Thanks for taking the time to read and respond!