Howdy from Texas!

Hi, I’m Joni and I’m a non-traditional student considering Medical School. It has been my dream since I was a child, but 3 kids later, at 28, when I was in the midst of a divorce, I pretty much gave it up. Now I’m 33 and about to graduate with my BS in Human Services Management and Leadership and considering what grad school options I have, when I thought “why couldn’t I do med school now?”

Am I completely crazy to consider entering med school when I’m 35? It would take me an extra year from now before I could apply to play catch-up and review on all my sciences, but my GPA is pretty good (3.8) and I think I could score well on the MCAT since I’m good at tests and I plan to study my butt off…

But it doesn’t make alot of sense to people, I guess. I have a BS, I have an executive-level job at a large company, I have 3 kids and a house and a LIFE, all of which would suffer (or disappear - ((job))) with this decision, but the desire to become a doctor has never left me and I am afraid I would always regret it if I didn’t do it.

Is 39 too old to start residency?

Are there any advantages to being a non-traditional ((old)) student?

Am I just wishful thinking?

I really want to do this. I hate my career in corporate America and I’ve wanted to be a doctor my entire life, but, ironically, life got in the way.

Thoughts? Thanks for listening!!