I could use some advice.

Hello,

It was my last semester of undergraduate studies and I’m sitting there talking to a pre-med asking her if considering my GPA, research, and other extracurriculars if I have a chance of getting into medical school. Her reply was, " You’ll have a chance but you won’t be competitive". Interesting…

As a result of that, in addition to family issues I felt that I would not be in the most competitive point in my life to finish the pre-medical requirements for medical school. I figured maybe taking some time off would be good, it would allow me to develop some clarity, and ruminate on the idea of becoming a doctor. After all, becoming a doctor should not be something that people should consider arbitrarily.

So, a couple of years after volunteering at a local hospital I feel like going to go ahead and try again. I graduated with my B.S. in Psychology with minor in Biology. My original intention in college was to be a Psychologist. I had conducted a year of research on people with OCD and anxiety disorders with a renowned Psychologist. Towards my senior year, I began to feel that the methods that Psychologists implement are not as a scientifically tenable, than that of a Psychiatrist. This is probably because I began to take more in-depth Biology courses. So no surprise, I want to be a Psychiatrist.

My overall GPA is 3.52. BCPM GPA: 3.63

The prerequisites courses that I have taken and their corresponding grades are Intro Bio-1 B, Intro-Bio A, Genetics A (I was a preceptor for the class), Comparative vertebrate Physiology B, Evolution of Terrestrial plants+lab A, Cell Biology A, Medical microbiology+lab A.

Calculus 1 and 2 B,

English comp 1 and 2 A.

Inorganic Chemistry 1-B, Inorganic Chemistry 2-A

I took all of these courses in residence at UT Austin.