I need major help here

Yesterday my uni transcripts came to me in the mail and I found out just how destructive I was in my undergrad career.

According to the paper I have an embarrassing 2.187 GPA.

At this point I have no degree and I’m six years removed from my last matriculated semester. Would it make a difference if I started a whole new degree or simply picked up where I left off and added more ugrad coursework to raise my GPA before finally applying for a diploma?

I have little reason to be positive about this path.

I am no expert in transcripts stuff and I don’t know how retaking would impact the transcripts. But in any way, it seems that you’d need a substantial number of credits to raise that GPA. I would probably go ahead and retake what you can.

The opinions of others will probably be more helpful.

It all depends on how many units you already have and if they are in math and science or other sections. You would need to meet with an adviser or just sit down and do the math to figure out how many units of which grades will pull you up to where you need to be (I would say minimum 3.3 but better to be over 3.5). When you apply you will give an overall GPA and math and science GPA, which should both be above the minimums. For MD schools all undergrad courses, whether they were retaken or not, contribute toward these GPAs.

AntMan

you seem to be an expert about this. How about graduate courses? I have an MBA as well, but I was working full time and going to school full time. I think my GPA for the MBA is about 3.4 or 3.5, do you know if that counts in the GPA med schools ask?

Thanks (and sorry for the off topic question).