I need some advice - starting the pre-med journey :)

Hi everyone,

I’ve read many of the posts here and I just wanted to introduce myself. I also need some advice as I embark on my journey towards becoming a doctor.

Here is a summary of where I’m at:

1.) I graduated from the University of California Santa Barbara eight years ago with a double major in Business Economics and Communication. Unfortunately, my grades were all over the place (some personal problems, family problems and other distractions). I ended up with a very mediocre 2.71 overall GPA. I did have some good grades mixed in - an A in Calculus and an A- in Statistics.

2.) I had an eight year career in the mortgage industry and I’ve decided to go back to my original dream…Im 31 years old

3.) I’ve looked into different options as far as where to take the science classes I need. I can pretty much get into any of the California State University campuses - so my first question is - does it matter which one? (some have a somewhat better reputation than others)

4.) What can I do to “make up” for the very weak undergraduate GPA at UC Santa Barbara? (aside from the obvious which is doing extremely well in the required science classes I take at the CSU campus I end up going to and a good score on the MCAT)…

5.) I’ve noticed a requirement for “English” at many medical schools…what type of English class or classes do they require?

6.) Do I have a chance at all at getting into any of the California medical schools or should I focus on trying to get into one of the Carribean schools? (or will that undergraduate GPA pretty much destroy any chance at getting in anywhere?)

Thanks

First, welcome!

I hope I can answer your questions. Others should be along soon enough to fill in anything I’ve forgotten.

Whether you go to a state school or a post-bac program, you’re right about doing your best, of course.