I need someone's wisdom regarding academic remediation!

I am new to this site but am needing someone to speak to regarding my plight. I am currently a 43 year persuing a doctorate degree in physical therapy. I drive 190 miles Monday through Friday to attend school and have a 2 year old and 4 year old with an amazing husband. I have always struggled with written exams and one month ago was diagnosed with ADD and finally understood why I always have so much in my head but constantly erase during an exam in an effort to get it on the paper, only to get grades somewhere in the 70-80%. I am in my first year of this program and finished the first semester with a 3.5 GPA. Now, I have one course with a C- (I missed a C by 1 point), and another that I passed all for sections but didn’t pass two (McKenzie techniques). I am told by many therapists that they have never used these techniques or have rarely used them. My plight is that I am being told to re-take my entire first year! I do not have the finances to repeat an entire year as my financial aid funds were just going to get me through these three years. Also, I don’t understand why I should repeat a 3.5 semester. I am unsure as to the next step and believe that it should not start with the department head, because he had the power to stop this in the first place. I have other class mates that have passed one of the courses above and not the other but are being allowed to continue on. The course that I received the C- in is not required to continue on or prevent us from going into clinicals. Also, we were told all along that we would just remediate the course and that it would not stop us. Any wisdom about how to fight this or if I should would be greatly appreciated as this has been truly a dream for years.

Rebecca

Rebecca;

First, welcome to OldPreMeds.