I want to chase my dream, but Im nervous like the rest of us.

Hello OPM, I have spent a few hours reading all the posts.

About Me: I am 30 years old. I have been a working engineer since I graduated from New York Institute of Technology in 2003 with a BT in EE. Im not happy in this field and like the rest of you I now dream of practicing medicine.

My History: Working for engineering companies in the automotive, toy and now aerospace industry. My Mother and Father (divorced) are both MD’s Father (whom I don’t interact with) is a primary care, Mother (who raised me and my sister)was a pediatrician. God rest her soul, she passed in 2006 from cancer. She is my inspiration to become a doctor. I have always been interested in the medical field and she had pushed me to become one since the beginning and to this day I dont know why I didnt listen. But I am listening now.

My Questions:

1. How do I find out what I need as pre-reqs? My engineering degree was from a technology institute and there was no requirement for BIO or CHEM. BOOOO!!

2. Now knowing I have no BIO or Chem background, Is a Post Bach a good way to get these under my belt and will that help me study for the MCAT?

3. Or can I take a PR course and still score well on the MCAT? But with no BIO or CHem, MED school will destroy me (that’s if i get in) Right?.

4. Considering were all Non Traditional pre-meds, Whats the fastest route through the following process? (if my steps are wrong, please correct me) Pre-reqs (university or CC)–>MCAT–>MedSch ool–>residency–>i nternship–> Fellowship (if deciding to specialize, and as of now I want to become a pediatrician and work with children)