I would love some feedback on this email

Hi Everyone,

So in my latest pursuit, I am trying to find doctors who will either allow me to shadow or assist in some kind of research project. I’m sort of “cold calling–or cold emailing,” and I am very new to it.

What do you guys think of the following? Please honest feedback if you have time to read it.

“Good Afternoon Dr.XXXX

I am writing you to express my interest in volunteer opportunies assisting in your office, ideally as it pertains to research. After reviewing your research interests and your professional portfolio, I would love an opportunity to contribute my skills to your research team.

I am a non-traditional student, currently pursing pre-medical post baccalaurate coursework, with the goal of obtaining an MD or DO, progressing towards a career in family medicine. I recieved my undergraduate degree in Psychology and I am interested in medicine that focuses on minority healthcare and barriers to treatment, patient education/ disease management, and women’s health.

I am active volunteer with Rape Victim Advocates, providing short-term medical advocacy, legal advocacy, and crisis intervention counseling for families and survivors of sexual assault. Additionally, I have completed training to become a certified prevention educator. Within this role, I work with diverse populations and address a variety of questions pertaining to gender roles and sexuality, sexually transmitted diseases, discrimination and barriers to treatment legal assistance, and rape trauma syndrome.

I am also employed as an Intake Coordinator, where I perform intake of new physician/patient referrals, record sensitive patient information in a clinical database, and educate patients on disease management. Within this role, I assist clinical staff in reviewing various procedures, and interface daily with patients and healthcare providers to obtain and verify clinical information.