I'M 51 (DON'T LAUGH) I MUST BE CRAZY

i took all my prerequesites (other than org II and lab) 15 years ago, during the time when i was earning my bachelor’s from OU. my mom died at age 50 after a 12 year battle with alpha I antitrypsin deficiency, through which i was her cheerleader and her caretaker. i had only begun college at age 30 (was 33 when she died and went through a divorce that same year). i didn’t drop out of my college, moved with my kids to a different house, but did drop the pre-med stuff and didn’t complete the process or the path. instead, i earned a psych degree and have been in sales for 15 years…NOW, i NEVER dreamed that med school was logical, possible or even smart since that point…have always yearned to go back to school and go further with education, was accepted to various law schools, psychology doctoral programs, etc…but something always stopped me from going (either family issues or my own doubts about investing the money and the time). my children are grown now (except for one 15 year old). i think that it’s now or never to explore the possibility of med school. i’m currently enrolled in org I and microbiology for the fall semester…many events in the past few weeks have opened my eyes to the “possibility” that this might work out. i am a fitness instructor, very healthy, active, and have lots of stamina.

all of that being said, if i really sit and dwell on this or analyze it (on its face) it appears to be crazy. i have simply decided to finish what i started 15 years ago. i will finish up the organic II and take biochem in the spring. at that point, if i find compelling reasons to stop the process, i will do so–but for NOW, it’s full speed ahead. i truly think that 100% of this effort consists of two basic skills: the art of putting one foot in front of the other and the commitment to not give up once truly committed.

thanks for letting me share. glad i found your site.