in a flat panic

I am so happy to have found this forum - this whole process makes me feel bipolar! I’ll try to be concise here, but I have a zillion questions.

Background:

• BA psyche, 3.31 (minimal sciences, and a disappointing science GPA of 2.7 thanks to calculus)

• been living in Australia for last 2 years, and am about to finish orgo II this semester

• took the MCATs once and was disappointed (PS7, VR8, BS11, T)

• I’m a journalist, so I have publications but none in science

• have some research experience and teaching/tutoring experience

Problems and questions:

1. AMCAS won’t use my science grades to calculate my GPA because they’re overseas - I’m frustrated because I’ve worked so hard and gotten H1s (first honors = As) in almost everything!! How is this going to affect me? Also, I’m not going to receive any degree for completing these courses, does it matter?

2. I’m taking an online Kaplan course - has anyone else done this? Was it successful?

3. When entering your “experience” into the AMCAS application, you have to fill in a reference. I have one job that I really want to include…however, I do NOT want to list the reference as he made sexually inappropriate comments to me, so I gave him an earful and quit. Will it look bad to not include a reference?

4. Any good resources for the application process?

There aren’t any at my uni…

Thanks so much for your help.

Ok, I’ll start with those…

Hey I feel bad that you haven’t gotten any answers but I’m afraid that even listed in a concise way, your questions are a little intimidating!

Before you waste a lot of money on AMCAS you need to talk to individual schools where you’re considering applying to find out how they will deal with those overseas grades. There are ways to do it but I do not know them and I’m not sure anyone else on here has dealt with it either.

There is the possibility that you’ll need a U.S. degree in order to make this process work for you but I hope not.