In need of advice - 28 yr old single mom

I’ve spent the last 10 yrs working in health and science related fields (dental assisting & teaching botany). I have volunteered at clinics and have been involved in psychosocial & clinical research. I earned my associates degree at a little no name community college. I also worked for a non-profit organization whose focus was on public health.

I had my daughter at a very young age and didn’t think it was possible. I’ve spent so much thinking it was too late for me. I received very good grades but being a single mom with no support made it very difficult to continue.

I have just come around to the idea of applying to medical school. I’m in the process of applying to a 4yr (undergrad) program for my bachelor’s degree and finding it difficult as a transfer student. I have wanted to be a physician for as long as I can remember. If I don’t do it now I will never do it. I will be 31 when applying to medical school. Is that realistic? Is there anyone here who can offer me some advice and or encouragement? Everyone around me thinks its crazy and that I should be “realistic”.

Of ocurse you can pursue this if it is what you really want. You are also not alone, many on this forum probably have some that might think that they are crazy, but that is their (the person who thinks it is crazy) issue, not yours. They could be jealous that unlike you they are just doing “what is expected” or they have just let their own dreams died because they were more concentrated on the numbers (i.e. age) than what they wanted.

Why do you think you are having problem transferring? Do you an AA degree or an AS degree? Aren’t there any uni’s that have partnerships in a way with the community college. Sometimes if you are transferring with an AS, you might be required to take more liberal arts classes.