In need of advice or just moral support.

I am not new to OldPreMeds, but have not been logging in for the last year, started a new job.
My question is, Am I fooling myself about Med School? I am now 46 and by the time I apply I will be 48-49. I am a Nurse-Midwife. I have a Master of Nursing and a Master of Public Health. I have worked as a nurse-midwife for about 8 years. I will need to do Physics, Organic Chemistry, and 1 semester of Gen. Chem before applying. Do I really stand a chance of getting in at 49?

Hey Wanda,
If there is anything to learn on OPM it is this: Yes you can get in at 49. I got in at 48, and there are those that have gotten in at an even older age. In this new era we live in, it seems that our only limitations are those we place on ourselves.
So yes you do have a chance of getting in. Your tone suggests that you are thinking correctly in that taking Physics, General Chemistry, and Organic Chemistry before applying will be no easy task. There will be many days (and nights) when you will question why you’re doing it!
There are also time considerations: Do you go full time to show that you can handle the course work, or do you take your time to ensure you do well? I started down the road when I was 46, so it was important to me to ‘just do it’ and get it over with. Like you, I had the same burning doubts, which is just one reason why I dove in headfirst and went back to school full time. That rout proved to me (and the admissions committee) that I could handle the load, but just as important, it showed that I liked the learning process – I could see myself doing it for the next four years in medical school.
With two masters degrees you know what studying is all about. Perhaps you need to prove to yourself in some other way that this is the life for you. Search your heart Wanda to determine if this is something you really want – and if it is – then go for it! Life is just to shot to live it in doubt or not doing what you want to do.