Income Replacement Loans

My husband and I are trying to figure out how I will continue to bring in some sort of income while I am in school. While I am studying my pre-requisites I will be working part time…but what do you do when you are in medical school and unable to work full time? Are there such things as income replacement loans? Where can I learn more about these types of loans? Are there any out there that are bette than others?
Thanks
Erica

Erica,
Medical school loans are designed to cover tuition, books, and very basic living expenses, similar to what you’d make on minimum wage full time, nothing more. Besides the federally guaranteed loans there are also alternative loans which are credit-based if you need additional. Budgeting is very important, needless to say.
Kathy

Hi there Kathy–
That is what I suspected. We are living on a very tight bugdet now, with my husband having been laid off two years ago. He ran out of unemployment and has taken a job making 1/3 of what he used to make. Needless to say we have really tightened belts and are living very frugally. I am a big fan of Larry Burkett and the Tightwad Gazette book series. I am worried that when I am in school that I will not have the time to devote to making so many home made items and doing so much thrift shopping. I know that my hubby will order out for pizza a lot–not really a thrifty thing to do! lol
I currently work part time and am hoping to be able borrow enough to cover what my part time jobs pays now–then we will be ok. I know that I do not need to go into deep debt, but do need something to help us a bit.
Do you know of any particular lenders that are easy to work with?
Thanks
Erica