Internship/Job Opportunities

Hi all,

I can’t begin to describe my relief in finding this forum of HOPE!

My story (in brief) is as follows:

I am about to turn 24 (yes, I am still young–hence the username-- but I have no advisor and need help!). I am hoping to apply to medical school as soon as possible; however, I obviously want to maximize my chances of acceptance, even if that means waiting until next cycle. I graduated from a four-year institution with a double major in English literature and Spanish language, plus a minor in journalism. I had a fairly decent GPA (3.6), but apparent struggles in completing my science prereqs. These struggles were mainly due to serious health problems that I encountered in the beginning of college (when I was taking the intro courses). My lowest grade was a C- in general chemistry (I also have a C+ in gen bio II).

I went back immediately after graduation to do a DIY post-bacc at the same institution (they have a discount for non-degree seeking alum), and got 'A’s in orgo, physics, and biochem. I’m concerned because I don’t have any research experience, my rec letters might not be great, and I don’t have a lot of volunteer experience either. Most of my college experience was dedicated to solving my own health problems. I’m attempting to get a lot of shadowing and volunteering done this “semester” while I take a course in genetics and finish studying for the MCAT (which I’ll take in April), but I’m trying to decide if aiming to apply for this cycle is too soon.

Should I take another year and gain some more experience? If so, are there two-year internships for post-grads available? I haven’t found hardly any that offer clinical experience and/or research experience. Or, should I apply for some sort of job for a year or two? Although I don’t know who would hire me, since my resume at this point is 90% academic, and my degree is in literature…