Intoduction much in need of pep talk

Firstly, I have found OldPreMeds to be the mos valuable resouce available for non tradional students. I abolutely love his web site so muh and have recieved lots of great information from reading the post and decided to finally join. A little about myself, I am a 27 year old single mother currentlsy pursuing a BSN degree at a small liberal arts college in Ohio. While I am a nursing student, I have always dreamed of one day becoming a physician and following in my father’s footsteps. I plan on attending a post-bacc program or even what you all call a DIY post-bacc program when I gradute in 2012 while workig part-time as a RN to support my kid and pay down some loans. I currently have a 3.8 gpa and clinical experience from being a STNA and from my nursing clinicals, I do need to do some shadowing and volunteer work. My conern is that despite all my efforts I am worried that I will not even stand a chance of getting into medical school b/c I attended a college right after highschool, 9 years ago, and failed out after a year and only earned 15 credits (read: I completely failed). At the time I was being treated for PTSD and depression and it took me six years and the birth of my daughter to finally find peace and turn my life around. Now I am very responsible and driven and it does reflect in my academics now, but I know the previous transcript will haunt me and bring my high gpa significanly down. Has anyone out there been in my positon? Do you know how adcoms look at candidate like me? Should I even mention the issues I had that caused for such a bad academic experience or will they see that as an excuse or another flaw? Has anyone gotten into medical school after being dismissed from an university for academic probation (bad grades conecutively, no cheating or anything)? I’d really appreiate any opinions, advice an help. Someties I think it’s such a long shot, that I should just give up.