Intrduction

Hi all,
I stumbled onto this site last night and I’m thrilled to know that I’m not alone in pursuing what many would consider to be a crazy career change.
I’m 39 years old and I am a trial lawyer in Chicago. Through my practice I have had a terriffic opportunity to learn narrow pockets of medicine from some wonderful experts in their field. I have discussed meningitis with the head of infectious diseases from Children’s Hospital in Chicago; I have deposed the director of Neuroradiology at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia relating to the interpretation of a child’s brain MRI; I have learned the dos and don’ts of the CABG procedure from Cardio-thoracic surgeons; and I have learned about the diagnosis of abdominal aortic aneurysms from some of the preeminent Emergency Physicians and Vascular Surgeons in the country. Through these and other cases in my 13 years of practice, I have come to the epiphany that the thing I enjoy most is the medicine rather than the law.
About 10 years ago, when I was a a brand new lawyer, I had a fleeting thought about trying to pick up my science courses, with an eye towards Med School. I didn’t know about the Post-Bac route - so I (briefly) looked into picking up the science courses. I discussed my thoughts with my father (Thomas Jefferson Medical College, 1971) and he only said that if it was something I really wanted to accomplish that there would probably be a place for me in medical school. But I was a new lawyer and I couldn’t imagine trying to impress my employer and finding time to attend classes and study.