Intro and 3 more premed classes dilemma

Hello Everyone,

I’d like to introduce myself here and ask a (rather complicated) question. I have a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in English (2009). I was premed in college and did all my requirements except a year of general chemistry and half a year of physics. I took my MCATs before graduating from college and did just about average.

It has been four years since that time and after doing a number of other things, I’ve finally decided to apply to medical school. However, here’s what I have yet to do:

1. Take the three science premed requirements

2. Retake the MCATs

3. Volunteer/work in clinical settings.

I would like to take my MCATs next year either in April or August. But here are my doubts:

4. Is it possible for me to take these three classes next semester as a non-degree student? If so, can I get loans to cover my costs?

5. It has been about 5 years since I was in touch with Science. Can I reasonably take my MCATs next year and expect to remember the science content? I will, of course, review as much as I can in the year to come.

6. Is it possible to work full time and take two science classes per semester? I am willing to do evening classes or classes during the day, but was concerned that employers will not be receptive to the latter. Is this true? The reason I have to work is that I have to support myself and pay my undergrad/grad loans back. How have you handled this kind of situation where you need to work but also want to take your premed requirements outside of a post bacc program?

Thanks so much and I am sorry for the long and complicated questions. I am glad to have found this forum and I wish all of you good luck!

Hi there,

I am by no means an expert on this subject, since I am just getting ready to apply this June. However, here’s my response to your questions: