Intro and Advice

Hi everyone, I’ve enjoyed reading some of the entries and I of course wanted to share my background and ask for advice. I have a BA with an undergrad gpa of 3.36. I have not yet taken the MCAT. I just graduated with a PhD in human genetics. I pursued this degree because of my underlying desire to become a doctor, but unfortunately as an undergrad I was deterred from pursing premed due to my less than stellar GPA, so this was the next best career choice. I have plenty of community service and shadowing experiences. I am working full time now and studying for the MCAT which I plan on taking the MCATs in May or June this year.

I am not really sure if the PhD will help all that much. I have not gotten a clear message from my undergrad institution. They keep coming back around to the GPA. I got all As and Bs in graduate school. Advice? Any gaping whole in my application?

Megan,

I don’t know how helpful I can be as I am just starting the process of taking the prerequisite courses, so I can apply to medical school, but seeing that you had so many views with no replies I felt compelled to respond with what I have found out about the adcoms.