intro and hope for advice

Hi all,

I found this forum a few years back and once again I’ve found my way back, reading the inspirational posts on this forum. It’s so wonderful to find folks that have taken this plunge. I’m almost 46 and considering the same - hoping for some realistic eyes on my situation. My friends/family just look at me like I have something in my teeth when I talk about this stuff.

So I have almost no natural science background. I started as a physics/computer sci major during undergrad, had zero focus and ended up switching to communication - science/math gpa is horrendous - probably 2.6 - overall gpa 3.2 or something like that. My last chem class was high school. I woke up after my BA and have two masters - one in statistics and an MBA - basically a 4.0 through those - though I doubt that matters. I have been a programmer/data analyst for years. Enough years actually.

Eight years ago I joined a medical device project and haven’t looked anywhere but healthcare since. I decided I wanted to check out the clinical scene, took some informatics classes, shadowed some docs and now work at the local university hospital internal medicine clinic where I help set up the EHR for the docs and research data questions. I like the work well enough, love the patients and have this dream where I finish up my MD, move to a rural area (here or abroad) and serve the geriatric community. That population is exploding and taking care of my father at the last brought home how all of the complex work that docs do with older patients really impacts lives - that’s the kind of work that sits in my heart now.