Intro and other ramblings

Hello!
I am a 24 yr old mother of a very wonderful 12 mo old. I am a paramedic. This last year since the birth of my child has been very difficult personally, financially, professionally, you name it. During this time I have been taking a good look at my life, what is important and what is not, and what I can do to change the path I am on; and the answer I came to was follow my dreams of being a doctor.
It won't be easy, my past schooling record is horrible. I was the kid in high school who was constantly told I wasn't living up to my potential and my grades reflected that in high school and college. I left one school after receiving a 1.9 GPA and went on to a community college where my grades better but I had frequent withdrawals from courses. Basically, I diddled around for 3 years. I never got a degree, the only schoooling I started and finished was paramedic school.
My plan right now is to re-enter community college, we moved to a different state last summer. I think I am just going to start over with school, with the mindset that I need to start from the beginning and just stick with it. Not denying my past, just hopefully learning from my mistakes. If I can get through a semester with a full load of courses at the community college, then I can get through the next one. If I can complete an Associates degree I can transfer to the university to work on bachelors. If I can do that then I can apply to medical school Small steps and one at a time. Right now, I need to be thinking about reviewing algebra and biology, learning time management and effective study skills.
Anyways, that's my story and I'm sticking to it! Good luck to all of you!

First of all, welcome to OPM!