Intro and the always popular prereq question

Hi there - I’ve been lurking for a while, and I feel much more comfortable here than at SDN, so I thought it was time to jump in! I’m a 31 year old mother of six. I worked in IT for 8 years, then took a few years off to stay home with my kids. My bachelor’s degree is in History. I’ve used the time home with my kids to really evaluate what I want from life, and I feel very confident in my decision to pursue medicine.

So, the inevitable and no doubt repetitive questions. I did read a lot of old posts asking similar questions, but I’ve seen some conflicting advice, so I thought I’d post my particular situation. My UG GPA is only 3.1, not sure of the science but it wasn’t great (and I haven’t done all the prereqs yet anyway). I graduated in 1997, and most of my science coursework was from a few years before that. The school I really really want to go to says that they prefer coursework to be no older than 10 years, so I’m all set to retake all the prereqs and start on the ones I haven’t taken yet. In a nutshell, is this the right course of action? Retaking the intro classes rather than taking more advanced classes? It will certainly help me to have the refresher, but is it the right thing in terms of the adcoms? Any other thoughts/advice?

Thank you so much!

• debbidala Said:
Hi there - I've been lurking for a while, and I feel much more comfortable here than at SDN, so I thought it was time to jump in! I'm a 31 year old mother of six. I worked in IT for 8 years, then took a few years off to stay home with my kids. My bachelor's degree is in History. I've used the time home with my kids to really evaluate what I want from life, and I feel very confident in my decision to pursue medicine.