Intro from another newbie

First off, I’m so happy to have stumbled across this site! Let me introduce myself.
In 2 weeks I’ll be 30. The road I have taken to wanting to be an MD is a strange one,but it makes sense in the end so bear with me!
I graduated from the University of Illinois - Champaign-Urbana in 1996 with a BA in History and Poli Sci. No science, and I even skimped on the core requirements(took “THe History of Science” and got it approved as my science class. For real!) At the same time, my high school sweetheart (He didn’t remain so for too long) was in Univ. of Michigan’s 7-year Med program. I was totally turned off by his self-important attitude and the all the attention he got. So I set off to the world of politics! I joined the Peace Corps and served 2 years as a Rural Health and Nutrition volunteer in French West Africa. When I came home I started working in evironmental and public health advocacy.
If you think lobbyists and campain managers have a “cool” lifestyle (think “THe West Wing”), then think again! I ran a field office in St. Louis, MO, far from friends and family. I had insane hours and had trouble holding down a relationship, but at the end of the day I went to bed feeling like I was doing good things - protecting the Arctic, cleaning up toxic waste sites, and blowing the whistle on the Bush Admin. National Energy Plan. Anyway, I burned out when I got transferred for the 3rd time. Also, in politics, a “victory” is only temporary, and selfish as it sounds, I never will have a cance to really SEE that a difference was made.