Intro / inquiry

Greetings,

I am currently a finance manager for a mid sized company and am seriously considering beginning the steps to gain acceptance into medical school. I am 37 father of two kids and husband to one wife. I am the sole earner in our household. I have an BBA in finance (cum Laude) and an MBA (3.73). While earning my undergrad I worked st a PCT (patient care technician) in an ER. Though dated I have a lot of patient care experience. Ideally I would like to attend TCOM the osteopathic school in Fort Worth, TX, given its proximity to my current location. If I decided to take this step and go back to school I am confident I could furlough myself from work one day / week and go to school. Additionally, I have the opportunity to shadow my current PCP and volunteer at a clinic for the poor. Additionally, I already hold some different leadership positions throughout the community and have a solid volunteer resume.

My questions are as follows:

1. I would have to take at least some of my pre reqs at a community college. Would this work against me? If so how much?
  2. is it possible to gain admittance into medical school with just the prerequisite courses or would I need to take large amount of science electives?
  3. am I too old? Be honest, I can take it.
  4. I have some weak grades from the 90’s, if I killed my prerequisites this time around my (using a AMCAS gpa calculation spreadsheet I found) my sGPA would be 3.25 and my cGPA would be 3.06.
  5. if that wouldn’t get me an interview I could elect to enroll in academic fresh start which would essentially prohibit any grades from 10 years ago from being included in the GPA calculated for admission.

5b) how common is it for someone to matriculate with only having the required 90 hours required to apply?