Intro

Since I have done a lot of lurking here I felt it was only appropriate to actually introduce myself to you wonderful folks. I turned 40 in June and have come to the realization that although I may be good at IT and computers, its not REALLY what I want to do. I completed my Bachelor degree this year and started on my Masters in Computer Science. As I progress through these courses I have been questioning what it is that I really want to do.
I have been providing prehospital emergency care since 1985 as a volunteer with 5.5 of those years as the paid Chief. I resigned my position as Chief so I could return to providing patient care as that is what I truly enjoyed. I never really considered medical school as I didn’t think I had the ‘right stuff’.
Something snapped this summer and I knew I needed to return to medicine full-time in one form or another. I started researching nursing programs and evetually migrated back to my old dream. Finding this web site and reading what all of you have gone through - same worries, concerns, issues, etc… I have come to realize that I can really make this happen. The inspiration found here is powerful and moving.
I plan on finishing the current CS course I am in then stopping with my Masters program and taking the pre-reqs that I an lacking (did not need biology/chemistry/physics to be a systems administrator ) and am hoping to take the MCAT in April 07.
My Bachelor IT dgree brings a 3.91 GPA with it, but combined with my GPA from the ‘younger’ years drops my overall GPA to 3.4. By doing the math, if I am successful with my prerequisites I should have no problem getting it over 3.5 but shy of a 3.6. Assuming I do well on my MCAT will this leave me somewhat competitive?