Introduction and CA Blues.

Hello all. As you’ve probably guessed I am new here. I was lurking around SDN for a while but I find that sometimes you just end up reading more petty arguments than actual, useful information. Here is my current situation.

I’m currently living in California. I graduated in spring 09 with a BA in History (3.95 though I think my cumulative is a 3.6), deans honor list, other honors, blah blah blah. Since then I’ve been working as an EMT for and have been trying to get hired by a fire or police department, though that has not worked out at all (did I mention I live in CA?)

I’ve come to realize however that I am much more interested in the definitive aspect of medicine more so than pre-hospital. Not being able to do more for my patients is a constant frustration when I’m at work.

All that being said, I’m sure a lot of people are now in the same boat as me: no or very little science pre-reqs and nowhere to go back to school in CA.

My options as I see them are either post-bacc programs, “open-university”, community college classes, or going out of state. I’m leaning towards trying to get into the USC post-bacc program for this spring and if that doesn’t work then I’ll for other programs for next fall.

I’m currently enrolled in a CC chem 1A class and i’m not sure If I should drop it and wait to take it at a 4 year.

I guess what I’m asking for is any advice from people who were/are in the same sort of situation. What did you do? Is there anything I should avoid doing?

If you are close to orange county, you can also look into the post-bacc program at Chapman University .

I live in Chicago, IL so I can’t speak to CA issues specifically … that said, I have a BS in journalism (with a very nice GPA as well, thank goodness), so I do share that with you: practically no science background in college (although lots of good background in high school, which I’m hoping will come back to me!).