Introduction and Plan Sharing

Hi all,

The past week I’ve been thinking about becoming a doctor (again) and found this wonderful site! I’d like introduce myself, tell you about my plan, and with any luck get some feedback on it.

I majored in statistics but and took all of my pre-med classes. Got an M.S. in biostatistics right after that which I finished in 2008. During that year I applied to several med school but did not get interviews for any of them. 3.5 undergrad, 3.7 grad GPA, good MCAT score, mediocre biology grades (B, B-, C, B).

Started work right after as a statistical programmer for the VA clinical trials program. No patient contact, no publications. Did that for almost two years, now I’m working at a place that trains EMTs, paramedics, and LVNs.

Activities: Rotary, on the board of two non-profits, chair of a city commission, ran for city council (didn’t win), and community emergency response team volunteer and trainer.

My plan:

-Get a full-time position as an EMT (I have a license)

-Find a medical office or hospital to shadow/volunteer at

-Take a year of biology at my CC

-Possibly take a year of anatomy/physio and/or Spanish at my CC

-Take the MCAT late 2011/early 2012

Apply in 2012

If anyone has advice or feedback, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!

Hi an welcome to OPM, you are among kindred spirits. If you take a look around the forums you will more than likely see a “been there done that” topic that is related to yours. However to comment there are several things.

1. I am questioning why you are retaking biology. If you have those grades, be advised that AACOMAS will replace a grade with a better grade and AMCAS will average them together. If those are your grades, I do not foresee any advantage, IMHO.

2. My advice would be to concentrate on the MCAT if anything else.

3. Contact a local medical school and see if you can get a meeting with admissions to see what you can do to enhance your application.

Welcome and good luck.