introduction and question

Hello everyone,
My name is Mark and I am a new member in that this is my first post. However, I did go to the last OPM conference in D.C. and I thought it was an excellent start for me to really examine what I may be in for. I have read many posts and would like to explain my own situation in hopes that a response(s) can help point me in the right direction. Many of your posts have been extremely helpful so far.
I will turn 32 in January. I have an MBA in international management and have my own development/management/investment real estate company (no employees). This was never and still is not my ideal job as I unfortunately don’t get the satisfaction that I know is waiting for me out there in a different occupation.
However, since I was about 23, not knowing what I wanted to do for a living, I had decided that I would make certain sacrifices in order to “one day in the future” have the ability to do “something else”. I wanted to feel like I had some financial security so that I could take bigger risks.
Now I feel like that “one day in the future” has come and that “something else” can be achieved. I have had to count out a lot of careers up until about a month ago because of a bad back. However, 2 weeks ago I had surgery (laminectomy with an open discectomy in L5-S1). So far it has changed my life as I no longer have lower back or sciatica pain.
I won’t lie and say that becoming a doctor has always been a dream of mine. I never really knew much about it or asked questions until about 2 years ago. But I now find myself wondering if this is what I have been waiting for. I do have an admiration and fascination with medicine, particularly surgery. I have also had the chance to view a few surgeries up close and although I know that isn’t many, I believe that I understand what the busy life of a doctor may entail. (One of my tenants is an orthopedic surgeon and is currently opening up an urgent care in the building.)